

SOUTH CAROLINA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES GOVERNMENT EFFICIENCY & LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson

Vice-Chair Chris Wooten

Lucas Atkinson
William H. Bailey
Phillip Bowers
Gary S. Brewer Jr.
Kambrell H. Garvin
Leon Douglas "Doug" Gilliam

Wendell K. Jones
Kathy Landing
John R. McCravy III
Annie E. McDaniel
Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis
Travis A. Moore

Scott Montgomery
Michael Rivers
Richard B. "Blake" Sanders
Marvin "Mark" Smith
Robert Williams
Paul B. Wickensimer

Lewis Carter
Research Director

Cathy Greer
Administrative Coordinator

Roland Franklin Legal Counsel

Charlie LaRosa Research Analyst Riley McCullough Research Analyst

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, February 11, 2025 8:30 a.m. Room 110 – Blatt Building

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Law Enforcement and Criminal and Civil Justice Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair Chris Wooten on Tuesday, February 11, 2025, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. All subcommittee members (Chair Wooten; Representative Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson; Representative Kambrell H. Garvin; Representative Leon D. "Doug" Gilliam; Representative William H. Bailey) were present for all or a portion of the meeting.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

Approval of Minutes

I. Representative Garvin made a motion to approve the meeting minutes from prior meeting. A roll call vote was held, and the motion passed.

Rep. Garvin's motion to approve meeting minutes.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Wooten	✓		
Rep. Johnson	✓		
Rep. Garvin	✓		
Rep. Gilliam	✓		
Rep. Bailey	✓		

Discussion of the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division

- I. Prior to beginning his testimony, Chair Wooten reminds SLED's Chief, Mark Keel, that he was sworn in at the February 23, 2023, Public Input Meeting and that he remains under oath. Chair Wooten asks if there are any additional agency representatives who may address the subcommittee today or at future meetings that have not been placed under oath. Richard R. Gregory, Assistant Chief; Ryan Alphin, Executive Affairs Director; Dr. C. Todd Hughey, Major, SLED Forensic Services Laboratory; Richard Hunton, Major, SLED Homeland Security; Ryan Truskey, SLED Chief Information Officer and Director of Critical Infrastructure Cybersecurity; Stewart Robinson, Major, Counterterrorism Unit; Don R. Royal, Director of Internal Operations; Jennie Temple, Major, Fusion Center; Clifton Weir, Major, SLED Office of Regulatory Services; Thomas H. Robertson, Major, Investigative Services; Frank O'Neal, Major, SLED Narcotics, Alcohol and Vice Services; and Monty Coats, Major, Director of SLED Criminal Justice Information Services were sworn in.
- II. Chief Keel then begins his overview of SLED's organization, departments, units, department and unit responsibilities, and partnerships. Throughout the presentation, members ask Chief Keel questions and Chief Keel responds.

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.